Photo by Hans Falklind

Cecilia Ekmark commissioned me (thanks to generous funding from Statensmusikverk) to write a new piece for flute(s) and piano (Roger Johansson), inspired both by Hans Falklind‘s bird photographs and birdsong, for her ongoing project called Birds. This project is also supported by Sveriges ornitologiska förening (SOF) and BirdLife International. We met twice in Göteborg to develop material through improvisation, which I have now used as raw material to create the piece. Tomas Tranströmer’s early poem ‘Preludium’ is woven throughout the piece, which is titled ‘Vingarna breddas’ (‘The Wings Spread’). The project premiered 26 May 2013 in Gothenburg’s 3.e Våningen.

Watch video about project BIRDS

Watch BIRDS trailer

* PROJECTS: Chamber Music Upcoming

Tagged: , , ,


for solo clarinet

also, for 2 clarinets Read more »

* WORKS: Chamber Music Solo works

Tagged: ,


for solo violin Read more »

* WORKS: Solo works

Tagged: ,

Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky

solo marimba
or solo piano Read more »

* WORKS: Solo works

Tagged: , , , ,


solo amplified alto flute Read more »

* WORKS: Solo works works with Dance / Movement

Tagged: , , ,

Like Two Trees

SATB choir with clarinet, violin, and cello
(text: Sir Philip Sydney) Read more »

* WORKS: Choir

Tagged: , , , ,

Aspetuck Waters

piano with string orchestra and percussion

or piano and string quintet (2 violins, viola, cello, and contrabass) Read more »

* WORKS: Chamber Music Orchestra

Tagged: , , , , ,